•  Cities
•  Landscapes
•  Fauna
•  License*

Virtual Ecuador Photo Library
License our photos for commercial use. Learn more.

Photo Albums

Quito photos


Ecuador is divided into four main regions, each with their own unique landscape type. Within Ecuador's territory there lies the Galapagos, the Pacific coast, the Andes, and the Amazon.

Volcanoes are a feature of Ecuador. The capital city Quito has three large volcanoes within the suburbs. Cotopaxi, one of the world's highest and active volcanoes, lies just south of Quito. Mount Chimborazo at 6,310 metres high is considered to be the most distant point from the center of the earth, helped by the fact that the globe is wider at the equator.

Although the country is not as large as other South American countries, particularly large (about the same size of the U.S. state of Colorado), there is huge variation in the climate, mainly due to differing altitude. The Pacific coastal area has a wet tropical climate. The Andean highlands ranges from is temperate and dry to alpine. The Amazon Basin to the east of the Andes has a wet and humid climate.

Ecuador experiences little variation in daylight hours during the year because of its location on the equator .

This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.