•  Relief
•  Regions
•  Provinces
•  Basic
•  Volcanoes

Virtual Ecuador Photo Library
License our photos for commercial use. Learn more.

Relief map of Ecuador
 Click on the map to see major volcanoes of Ecuador.

Ecuador is divided by the Andes Mountains. The mountainous region is known as La Sierra ("the highlands"). To the west of the Andes is La Costa, or the coast, which comprises the low-lying land in the western part of the country, including the Pacific coastline. El Oriente ("the east") comprises the Amazon rainforest area. The Región Insular is the area comprising the Galápagos Islands, about 1,000 kilometers (620 mi) west of the mainland in the Pacific Ocean.

This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.