•  Relief
•  Detailed Relief
•  Basic
•  Regions
•  Detailed Regions
•  Departments

Virtual Colombia Photo Library
License our photos for commercial use. Learn more.

Departments of Colombia
Click on the map to see photos of Colombia.

Colombia is divided into 32 departments and one capital district which is treated as a department. There are in total 10 districts assigned to cities in Colombia including Bogota, Barranquilla, Cartagena, Santa Marta, Tunja, Cucuta, Popayan, Buenaventura, Tumaco and Turbo. Colombia is also subdivided into some municipalities which form departments, each with a municipal seat capital city assigned. Colombia is also subdivided into corregimientos which form municipalities. Each department has a local government which is headed by a department governor and its own department assembly elected for a period of four years in a regional election. Each municipality also headed by a municipal mayor and a municipal council. And for corregimientos there will be an elected corregidor or local leader.

  1. Amazonas
  2. Antioquia
  3. Arauca
  4. Atlántico
  5. Bolívar
  6. Boyacá
  7. Caldas
  8. Caquetá
  9. Casanare
  10. Cauca
  11. Cesar
  12. Chocó
  13. Córdoba
  14. Cundinamarca
  15. Guainía
  16. Guaviare

  1. Huila
  2. La Guajira
  3. Magdalena
  4. Meta
  5. Nariño
  6. Nortede Santander
  7. Putumayo
  8. Quindío
  9. Risaralda
  10. SanAndrés and Providencia
  11. Santander
  12. Sucre
  13. Tolima
  14. Valledel Cauca
  15. Vaupes
  16. Vichada
  17. Bogotá * (Distrito Capital)

This web site, logo, name, content, photos, and design are protected by international copyright law.
Original versions of our photos can be purchased & web versions can be shared subject to conditions.